Gilmore Day – Rory’s Reading List

books-1644060_1920

Grab a cup of coffee (or tea..you weirdos…) and get ready because I can tell this is going to be a long one.

I’d like to consider myself a bit of a bookworm but I’ve never committed to taking on the famous Rory’s Reading List.  However, I have been wondering about how many books I’ve already completed from the list, so here’s my trip through the giant stacks of words that are the Rory Gilmore Reading List.

It begins

  1. 1984 by George Orwell – This book is really up there on my list of favorite books. I never realized that I liked to ready dystopian novels as much as I do. 1984 definitly started my desire to read more dystopian novels.
  2. Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll – I’ve watched Alice in Wonderland many times but I’ve never settled down to read the book. It was a pleasant read however it was a little too all over the place for me but I did like the book a bit better than the movies I have watched because it was a tad darker than them.
  3. Anne Frank: Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank – Required reading for school that wasn’t a bad book, it did make me cry.
  4. As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner – I read this book this year and I did not enjoy it. I’m not really into the chapters jumping from character to character. It was a bit confusing but the book was well written, I understand why it is a classic.
  5. The Awakening by Kate Chopin – I really liked this book! I haven’t read it since high school and I really want to pick it up again. I think this novel was my first turn into more feminist thinking.
  6. Beowulf by Seamus Heaney – Beowulf was not horrible. I read it in school and didn’t hate it..but than again when have I really hated a novel?
  7. Carrie by Stephan King – My boyfriend bought me this book for me. It was really good! I really liked the original movie and was really excited to read it! I always forget how much I like horror or suspensful novels.
  8. Charlotte’s Web by EB White – A very cute book. I read this many, many years ago but I remember really enjoying it.
  9. The Crucible by Arthur Miller – Honestly, I can’t remember much about the crucible. Witches?
  10.  The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson – I love this book! A serial killer, the world’s fair, and awesome writing. So good!
  11. Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson – I don’t think that I gave this book as much credit while reading it or I feel like I might’ve not understood it as well as I should have. I’ll definitely need to give it another read soon!
  12. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury – Books, firefighters, weirdness, a television family, and a dystopian future. It is pretty great.
  13. Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas by Hunter S. Thompson – I didn’t really enjoy this novel. A lot of drugs and it was really hard to follow.
  14. Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes – I don’t remember a lot about this book because its been a good amount of years since I read it.
  15. Frankenstein by Mary Shelly – I really enjoyed this novel. I’ve never actually seen any Frankenstein film or read the book, I knew the basic idea of the book but that was all.
  16. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling – Harry Potter is great. Need I say more?
  17. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by JK Rowling – See above.
  18. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte – I attempted to read this book in early middle school and I had to stop because it was too big of an undertaking. I picked it up again in high school and it was awesome. I really loved going through Jane’s entire life so that you can learn about every event that made her into the person that she was at the end of the novel.
  19. Lord of the Flies by William Golding – Very strange. Boys are crazy.
  20. Macbeth by Shakespeare – A really dark play. I don’t actually enjoy reading plays but this one was so strange and I really liked it.
  21. Night by Elie Wiesel – The book wasn’t bad but I’m not really a big fan of reading about Nazi camps.
  22. A Passage to India by E.M. Forester – I haven’t really read a lot of books or maybe even any books about British rule over India. This book brought that to light alongside an interesting storyline about false accusations.
  23. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephan Chbosky – I cry every time I think about this book, read this book, or watch the movie.
  24. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde – Can I have a painting that ages while I stay young? Can I also not have any bad things that happen in the novel happen to me?
  25. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – I can’t say enough good things about P and P. This is one of my favorite classics. Romance and a historical setting? My heart is happy.
  26. Romeo and Juliet by Shakespeare – Where you at Romeo? It isn’t a love story.
  27. The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne – A very dramatic story line that isn’t extremely overpowering.
  28. Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway – This was my first Hemingway that I read while I was just starting high school. I enjoyed it and enjoyed the extravagant events that occurred throughout the novel.
  29. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee – Required school reading. I’m not a big fan of reading books that center around children because I feel like I can’t relate to them anymore, but To Kill a Mockingbird allowed me to easily comprehend what the children where thinking.
  30. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte – Very confusing. It needs a second read for sure.

And it’s done.

Okay. Wow. I really thought I had read more than just 30 books off of the giant Rory Reading List….okay I’ve got some books to catch up on. About 300 more? That’s feasible.

While I have been reading a lot of books over the few years, they have usually been books that didn’t make the reading list. I’m fine with that because you should always read books that you are looking forward to reading and not reading it because one of your favorite character’s read it. There are a lot of books on the list that I have purchased but haven’t read yet so I have to get on it!

How many books from Rory’s Reading List have you read?
Leave a Reply

