Gilmore Day – Logan’s Influence

top-5-favorite-male-characters-1

I started rewatching Gilmore Girls during my freshman year of college. I don’t know why, and I wish that I did because it would be wonderful to write about my feeling as at the time and why I decided that I needed to watch Gilmore Girls. I can sort of figure out why I wanted to rewatch it. I didn’t have any friends in school, I didn’t do a lot, and I had a lot of free time. I finished my first rewatch of the series around winter break of that first year and then in January of the next year I selected a major (because I was one of the few students that went into school undeclared). Why do these things go together you ask? Well, I’ll tell you.

My major was, and still is, New Media Communications (though the name is always changing). What is that? Well, I can honestly say that I’m not really sure either. It has to do with social media, online marketing, and a little bit of every kind of communications type things that you can do online. Wow..wait a minute did I just understand what I’ve been going to school for?

Now, if you think back to the season 7, when Logan comes back to visit Rory in episode 5 “The Great Stink”, he talks about the stuff that he’s working on, he mentions buying a company that’s similar to Facebook, and I believe he talks about social media in passing in at least a few other episodes. I know he mentions some information about the work that he’s doing in season 7 episode 18 “Hey Bale Maze”.

Again you might be asking “Okay…and?”, here’s why I’m making these connections. I usually get a bit influenced by the media that I am consuming. I might pick up a phrase that a character uses frequently or I might pick up a new style that I saw a character rock. I never thought that a fictional character could influence me to decide as big of a thing as my future. However, I’m glad Logan did. I really enjoy new media and I get to dabble in a bit of every type of creative element online. I know it isn’t great to be influenced by fictional characters but I don’t mind it because I’ve been picking up good traits that I hope I get to keep.

Have you been influenced by any of your favorite fictional characters?  
Leave a Reply

