Tunes : “Awaken, My Love”

childish gambino

I listened to this album by Childish Gambino during the entire month of December and I loved every bit of it (even though it did get in the way of listening to Christmas music but all good Gambino I still love you). This album sang me to sleep, kept me company while washing dishes, encouraged me while I was writing, and consoled me when I was crying.

I can’t think of a better way to describe the album except for powerfully quiet. If that makes sense…I’ll attempt some kind of explanation. I feel like Gambino’s voice and the sound of the whole album kind of shake you awake (Get it awake…awaken…? I like to think I’m super funny and super deep…you can ignore me.). However, the basic essence of the music is somehow extremely peaceful to me.

Gambino and whoever worked on this album with him really excelled in song arrangement within the album. Personally I don’t think there is one song that’s out of place on the album. Each song creates a certain mood for the album and moves it along a haphazard tale. I’m going to assume that he’s using real life situations/personal experiences to create his words (because that’s what people usually do…).

I can’t say that you would enjoy this album if you are a fan of Gambino’s older works. It is something completely different that you listen to with your eyes closed rather than jumping at a concert.

Have you ever seen the animated movie Ratatouille? There’s a scene where Remy, the main rat, shows his brother how he should taste food by savoring it rather than gorging himself on it. Also, there’s the scene where Remy tastes the strawberry and cheese and fireworks go off when he tastes the different flavors together will work for this comparison.

This is how I would describe this album. You need to close your eyes and allow the different sounds of the songs to wash over you and (if it is your cup of tea) you’re really going to enjoy it.

…Did I just compare a Childish Gambino album to Ratatouille..?

Overall, I’m extremely thankful for Childish Gambino’s creation because it’s something that I didn’t even know that I needed but it has been so great to me these past couple of months that I don’t think I would be as happy as I am now without it. Give this album a listen if you’re feeling adventurous and let me know what you think of it!

*I don’t really know what I’m talking about when it comes to music, this is simply part of my journey to figuring out what I actually really like to listen to (aside from all the nostalgic tunes that I indulge in) and having a clear answer to someone when they ask me “what kind of music do you like”.

One comment

  1. […] Aside from the message I find the entire album a real production which gave me Frank Ocean and Childish Gambino vibes. I didn’t think I was a fan of albums that told stories alongside the music but I […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

