Monday Review – Baghead (2008)

What’s it about?

You start with four individuals looking for some way to make it big in the movie world. They figure that they can go away for a weekend and create a full screenplay that will propel them into stardom. The group heads off to a cabin in the woods and begins to put together ideas for their movie. Before they can come up with an idea themselves, they get interrupted by a man with a bag over head.

You’ll have to watch the movie to figure out what happens next.

What did I think?

I went into this movie only knowing that it was created by the Duplass brothers, and while I was a little disappointed that they weren’t actually in the film I actually really enjoyed it. I’m a fan of found footage films so I got really excited when I saw that was the way the movie was shot.

I was worried that it would have the stereotypical characters that you find in similar cabin in the woods horror movies. While they were a bit stereotypical, each character was a bit of a mix of different stereotypical characters so you had more interesting interactions between everyone. An example of this would be Steve Zissis’s character that was a mix of the careful nerd and then also played up a bit of the jokester character. At least this what I got from it.

I’m embarrassed to say that I realized the twist (yep there’s a twist) really late in the game. I don’t think I realized what was going on until the knife part (the second one). I don’t want to spoil it for you because you really should watch it! I think you’ll figure out the twist way earlier than I did.

What was my favorite part?

I really enjoyed the music that played throughout the film. It is what can be heard in the trailer above and it looks like that’s the only place you can find it (the trailer and the film itself). I watched the film late at night and there were some points where I stopped paying attention but the music always brought me back in.

Leave a Reply

