Tunes – Kendrick Lamar DAMN

I have to tell the truth. This is my first time listening to a full album by Kendrick Lamar all the way through. Shocking I know. It was definitely time for me to join the hype for the his new album. Plus, all of the conspiracy surrounding the album is so fascinating I had to see why it was such a big deal.

I’m glad I did because this is a fucking fantastic album. I can’t say I understand the messages that he’s including into the lyrics yet, I think I’d have listen to it many more times before I could really appreciate the message in the lyrics. Aside from the message I find the entire album a real production which gave me Frank Ocean and Childish Gambino vibes. I didn’t think I was a fan of albums that told stories alongside the music but I surprised myself and actually really enjoyed the story and dialogue that was happening throughout this album.

I was talking to a friend yesterday about the album and he asked me what my favorite track was and I honestly couldn’t stop naming every song. I’d think about it for a minute and name dna, loyalty, and xxx as my favorites and then list off humble, lust, and fear as some more favorites. In the end I just said that the whole album can be considered my favorite song because every song flows into the other one and so it is all just one song (don’t fight me on this).

This will not be the last Kendrick Lamar album that I will be listening to all the way through! Seriously if you like hip hop in any way then you will love this album! Check it out!

*I don’t really know what I’m talking about when it comes to music, this is simply part of my journey to figuring out what I actually really like to listen to (aside from all the nostalgic tunes that I indulge in) and having a clear answer to someone when they ask me “what kind of music do you like”.

Leave a Reply

